Welcome to the NYCEAC Events Page! Listed immediately below are upcoming elder justice and aging events accessible to those in the New York City area. Events include webinars, trainings, symposiums and more. These events can also be browsed using the events calendar, located on the left sidebar on every page of the site. To submit an event, please click here.

Events in the New York City Area

Date/Time Event
02/02/2017
10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Working with Disabilities, Trauma & Domestic Violence
NYC Family Justice Center, Queens, Kew Gardens NY

Events Outside the New York City Area

Listed below are events for the elder justice community scheduled to take place outside of the New York City Area. These events are not listed on the sidebar calendar.

Webinar: Introducing the DOJ Elder Justice Website

Thursday, January 26, 2017  

2:00pm (EST)/ 1:00pm (CST)/ 12:00pm (MST)/ 11:00am (PST)

Please join this 60 minute webinar on Thursday, January 26th, 2:00–3:00pm EST for an introduction to the DOJ Elder Justice Initiative’s new website, ElderJustice.gov.

Hosts Susan Lynch, Senior Trial Attorney for DOJ Elder Justice Initiative, and Dr. Sid Stahl, Research Consultant, DOJ Elder Justice Initiative, will detail the tools and resources on ElderJustice.gov that support busy elder abuse professionals, including:

• Information about elder abuse and where victims and their families can find help in English and Spanish

• Training videos, webinars plus a dedicated elder abuse research database

• The Elder Abuse Resource Roadmap to assist in reporting financial exploitation

• A Press Room with announcements of DOJ elder justice cases in the news

The webinar recording will be made available on the OVC TTAC website: www.ovcttac.gov 

Registration and Event Information: http://bit.ly/2jCk3Xn

Lifespan Financial Exploitation Webinar – POA Abuse: Not Just a Civil Matter

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

10:00 am

Presenters: Sarah Duval, Esq. & Kevin Quinn, Esq. from Center for Elder Law & Justice in Buffalo, NY. 

If you have not already expressed interest in receiving information about Lifespan’s Webinar Series, please send your name, email address, agency/organization, and county to FEwebinars@lifespan-roch.org. Programs are also recorded for future viewing.

R2P Webinar – The Sexual Abuse of Vulnerable Adults in Institutions: Key Study Findings and Implications for Practice

Tuesday, February 7, 2017

2:00-3:30 pm (EST)

This webinar will provide an overview of the National Institute on Aging-funded study “The Sexual Abuse of Vulnerable Adults in Institutions” (SAVAI), its key findings with regard to case factors that predicted substantiation of the sexual abuse allegation, and implications for practice.  The SAVAI study collected data on over 400 new allegations of sexual abuse that were investigated by Adult Protective Services and/or regulatory agencies in Oregon, New Hampshire, Tennessee, Texas, and Wisconsin during a six-month period.

Webinar attendees will be able to:

  • Understand the challenges to, and strategies for, conducting research on sexual abuse of vulnerable adults residing in care facilities
  • Describe case characteristics that increase or decrease the likelihood that a sexual abuse allegation within a care setting will be substantiated
  • Advocate for more effective investigative practices in cases of sexual abuse of vulnerable adults residing within care facilities.

For more information on the webinar, and to register, visit here.

28th Annual National Adult Protective Services Association (NAPSA) Conference

August 28 – 30, 2017

8th Annual Summit on Elder Financial Exploitation
August 31, 2017

Primary Conference Partner
Wisconsin Department of Health Services

Hilton City Center | Milwaukee, WI

Additional information on the conference can be found here. For information on proposing a workshop for the conference, visit here.